Mission Possible

Good morning, family!

I hope you had a wonderful Christmas and you and yours were thoroughly blessed. I’m excited about the upcoming year and I sincerely hope that MTWMY encourages you right where you are in life.

Ever wondered if the place you are in was THE place for you? Know what I mean? I mean that sweet spot tailored just for you. You don’t have to grind and pretend to be something you’re not. All you have to do is be you and it works. You’re efficient, productive, and fulfilled. Sounds impossible to a lot of people who are still grinding, hoping, waiting, wondering why it just hasn’t happened yet. Maybe even thinking about cashing in all their chips and giving up.

There’s a big difference between good and best, okay and incredible. In my life travels, I have been fortunate to meet people from every spectrum of life. I have met millionaires and those down on their luck. Those committed to continuous growth and those totally content with living on the fringe. Some want to be the boss. Some want to just work and go home. Some don’t want added responsibility so they prefer a minimalist type of existence. Some live paycheck to paycheck with an occasional vacation. There is even some bad teaching in some circles that the poorer you are and the less you have, the more blessed you are by God. 

Are you currently sitting in a comfortable place but far beneath your privileges?

I know what it’s like to live in a city and state that is challenged economically and spend years waiting for a turnaround that seemingly never comes. A lot of room for growth, culturally and economically. It’s totally understandable to start having second thoughts about the feasibility of the place you find yourself. I’m a staffing coordinator by vocation so I get to see how much money businesses are willing to spend on staffing needs. Highly skilled positions still may garner well under the national average in certain places. I have a handful of friends scattered throughout the U.S. that have the exact same plight.

What do you do when you have these thoughts? Where does faith come into play? Is faith activated in making a leap and moving to a more prosperous place or is faith better placed in waiting out a long season where you are? Or is there a third option?

Every time I have these thoughts or I’m asked to pray for someone that is, or just listening to a friend across the country, I can’t help but think about this passage to provide some comfort.

“For I am about to do something new. See, I have already begun! Do you not see it?
I will make a pathway through the wilderness. I will create rivers in the dry wasteland.
The wild animals in the fields will thank me, the jackals and owls, too, for giving them water in the desert. Yes, I will make rivers in the dry wasteland so my chosen people can be refreshed.” (Isaiah 43:19-20 NLT)

On its face, it doesn’t provide a clear answer to some of these questions but what it speaks to me is that the seemingly impossible is possible, even if it doesn’t make total sense in our heads. “Rivers in a desert” defy conventional logic but not impossible to those that have seen the unthinkable, the unimaginable, and the impossible happen. From that passage, it also sounds like your faith doesn’t just benefit you but others around you as well. To be honest, somebody is always watching you through these challenges and gaining strength or perspective from how you respond to it.

Your mission, if you choose to accept it, is to have an obedient heart in the place you have been planted and also gain the wisdom to recognize if you’re in the wrong place and get into your proper position. Keep moving forward!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.