Editor’s Note From the MTWMY Desk

Hello everyone!

The more I think about it, the more I’m convinced we simply have it all wrong.

We spent countless hours defending our positions and digging our heels in on the finer points of politics, popular culture, or whatever the hot news story of the day is. We point fingers at others and interject our thoughts on the morality of others. Day in and day out, we wage war using our keyboards and we walk away drained, frustrated, and wondering where the day has gone. I don’t have to turn on the local or national news to figure out one outstanding and important point, at least for me. We are making poor investments.

If a person won the $287M Powerball or received a sizable tip while serving at a restaurant where they walked, every coin and dollar counts. How much each person has attained isn’t as important as how it is invested. The same concept is applicable to time and purpose. We are not going to “find” ourselves through social media and through doing the same thing continuously, hoping the result is going to be different.

Today, I got an opportunity to be a part of something incredible. I am going through a lot right now. I don’t wear a frown and hang my head about things not going my way. I don’t make every conversation about me. But I would be justified to focus on my situation in an effort to “fix” my situation. It’s a cliche to some but man, did I need the reminder that we get more fulfillment and we find more of us when we humble ourselves and serve others. Don’t believe the voice that speaks through our television and through our social media outlets. It screams “It’s all about you!”, “Woe is me!”, and “Nobody cares!” This world seems really screwed up and maybe largely it is but we have something that so many don’t have. We have access to something better, longer lasting, and fulfilling. Today, I got a chance to share a little of that with someone that really needed it. I don’t think I did anything special but I must admit I was fulfilled. I found purpose. I learned more about myself. And all I did was put aside all my stuff, my position, and my desires and made it my business to make it about someone else.

What was the result? Time will tell. But I’m better for it.

Hopefully this is an encouragement for you but please reconsider the time you invest. Think about what you’re giving and why you’re giving it. If it’s all focused on you, that may be reason enough for consideration. If it seems too hard and it cost too much, and it serves the needs of others, think about why you haven’t been faithful to this and why you may need to do more. We’re wasting precious time that we honestly can’t afford.

If nothing else hits you from this article, please consider this. If you want to change your outcome, you have to change your investment.

Please continue to support us in your readership and in subscribing to Mirror Time at mirrortimewithmistayu.wordpress.com. Thank you for listening.

 

 

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.