A Love Letter

Dear Love,

I know you’re busy with stuff but I don’t know if you are aware of this and I wanted you to know how much I love you.

It’s hard to see me from way back here. There are a lot of people in your life. I have been trying to move through the crowd to get closer to you but the crowd seems to get bigger by the day and I find myself near the back of the crowd again and again.

I call your name but you don’t seem to hear me through all the distractions, through the parties, and the get-togethers, and the movies, and the binge-watching, and the tones of your favorite songs. I keep calling you but you can’t hear my voice.

I just wanted to remind you that I love you. I tried to show you how much by offering an authentic one-of-a-kind sacrifice in your place. He suffered much but I knew it was the only way I can preserve your life so you can truly live. I didn’t intend for you to live to forget me but I consider you so valuable, I knew there was no other way. That was the greatest way I could exhibit my love for you. That was more than enough.

I also gave you a wonderful spouse and bright and beautiful children. I gave you a job that allows you to take care of your family and have enjoyments too. I gave you health and strength so that you can accomplish great things in this life. I gave you a promise of an abundant life. All you have to do is accept me the way I am. In kind, I would accept you the way you are.

Well, now here we are in what you’d call the season of giving. I desire relationship with you. I wanted that in Eden and I still want that today. Looks like the already growing crowd is getting larger. It’s getting harder and harder to lock eyes with you and catch your attention. I waved and called out again but you can’t hear my still small voice over the noise. You seem to be having so much fun. I wonder if you have thoughts about me at all. I wonder if you miss the time we used to share. Even when this season passes, the true reason for it will always remain. I hope that one day you will remember me, lay down all the things that used to be priority, and move through that crowd and come to me. I’ll be waiting for you but know this: I’ll never stop loving you.

 

cb999-welovehimbecausehefirstlovedus

 

“Love is patient and kind; love does not envy or boast; it is not arrogant or rude. It does not insist on its own way; it is not irritable or resentful; it does not rejoice at wrongdoing, but rejoices with the truth. Love bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things. Love never ends. As for prophecies, they will pass away; as for tongues, they will cease; as for knowledge, it will pass away.” (1 Corinthians 13:4-8 ESV)

“Greater love has no one than this, that someone lay down his life for his friends.” (John 15:13 ESV)

“Little children, let us not love in word or talk but in deed and in truth.” (I John 3:18 ESV)

3 thoughts on “A Love Letter

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.